This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: May 24, 2012 2:59 AM by gimbal2 RSS

Creating new JSF2 pages from a running Servlet (3.0) or JSF2 page?

937630 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new to JEE6 web apps with JSF 2.x frontends (GlassFish 3), and I still wasn't able to find a solution for this dynamic JSF 2.x problem:

*From inside a running JSF 2.x web app (Servlet 3.0), which possibilities (if any) do I have to dynamically add generated JSF pages (whole new .xhtml files) to specific folders of the (exploded) document root, so that these pages can be dispatched to the client like any traditional, statically-deployed one?*

Background: An app for "promoting" authors/editors (content providers) which has these few main requirements:
<ol>
<li>New providers will register under <tt>www.acme.com/app/register.xhtml</tt>.</li>
<li>The system will grant each provider "sub-domain" associated with web space under
<tt>www.acme.com/app/<b>providerX</b></tt> where providerX is an arbitrary sub-domain name chosen by the provider during the registration.</li>
<li>Each provider will initially have some pre-defined pages in their document context root, e.g.
<tt>www.acme.com/app/providerX/index.xhtml</tt>, <tt>about-me.xhtml</tt>, <tt>contact.xhtml</tt>, etc.</li>
<li>Each provider will have an administration console for managing 2 tasks:
<ul>
<li type="a"><tt>www.acme.com/app/providerX/admin/page-manager.xhtml</tt> </li>
<li type="a"><tt>www.acme.com/app/providerX/admin/customer-manager.xhtml</tt></li>
</ul>
to specify new pages with offers, publish these pages in their document context root, e.g. <tt>www.acme.com/app/<b>providerX</b>/<b>my-services</b>.xhtml</tt> (customized page name), and
to manage their readers/customers, respectively.
</li>
<li>Thus, each providerX will also have a pre-deployed customer registration page running, which creates standard customer accounts. E.g.:
<ul>