This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: May 31, 2012 2:25 PM by EJP RSS

Operator Precedence for Increment Operator

UdayaShankaraGandhi Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi Guys,

When i am trying an example to work with Increment Operator (either pre-increment or post-increment operator), i studied in one book that associativity of increment operator will be from right to left. And i tried one example to confirm, but it seems associativity is working from left to right.

Here is my example
public class RightToLeft 
{
     public static void main(String[] args) 
     {
          int i = 5;
          int j = ++i * i++;
          System.out.println(" i value :"+i);
          System.out.println(" j value :"+j);
     }
}

Ouput : i value : 7
            j value : 36 
Here, if java is working with right to left associativity in handling increment operator the value of j would be 35, but it is giving 36 by evaluating the expression from left to right.

Can you please let me know if i am thinking in a wrong way.

Thanks,
Uday
  • 1. Re: Operator Precedence for Increment Operator
    gimbal2 Guru
    Perhaps you should just put it in simpler terms.

++i: increment first, then use incremented value in expression
    i++: use original value in expression first, then increment it

Does that help to understand what is going on?

Edited by: gimbal2 on May 31, 2012 4:02 AM : fix typo
  • 2. Re: Operator Precedence for Increment Operator
    452196 Journeyer
    The increment operators are monadic, and monadic operators bind more tightly than any diadic. The associative property doesn't apply to monadic operators.

So you get the equivalent of (++i) * (i++). The associativity relates to the * operator, but it only applies if you have more than one diadic operator of the same precedence.

Associativity determines the order in which, say " i + j + k" is evaluated. Whether as (i + j) + k or i + (j + k). (Either way it's still evaluated left to right).