This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2012 6:15 AM by 936749 RSS

X and display

936749 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
I just now tried to access dbca through putty(X forwarding enabled) with xming and recived the following error:
[oracle@EXA01 bin]$ ./dbca
DISPLAY not set.
Set DISPLAY environment variable, then re-run.
I tried xterm as Oracle but it's not availible to Oracle.

And yeah we use Oracle Linux.

If anyone have documentation on this please link.

Edited by: 933746 on Jun 5, 2012 10:44 AM

Edited by: 933746 on Jun 5, 2012 10:45 AM
  • 1. Re: X and display
    SAmi389588 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Dear

    please write the cmd of export DISPLAY that you run it

    Ex:
    $ export DISPLAY=10.31.19.93:0.0
    $ dbca

    Regards
    A.M
  • 2. Re: X and display
    user10489439 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    When using ssh, you don't need a DISPLAY variable.

    Do you connect to your EXA01 server as root and changes to the oracle account with su? The easiest way is a direct connection to the oracle account on the EXA01 server with ssh. Should this not possible you have to use "ssh -X" for every further connection.

    Best regards
    Antje
  • 3. Re: X and display
    936749 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi,
    Thanks for the answers...
    I'm connecting from my client computer a Windows 7 with putty (X forwarding) and have installed Xming. This works for most environments but not against our new Exadata's. I connect as Oracle and i do not change user.
    As far as I can understand in the documentation there should be no need to use EXPORT DISPLAY=
    Anyone have any idea on how to resolve this issue?
  • 4. Re: X and display
    936749 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    I've also tried with exporting display but still nothing works.
    [oracle@exa1 bin]$ export DISPLAY=localhost:10.0
    [oracle@exa1 bin]$ ./dbca
    [oracle@exa1 bin]$ export DISPLAY=localhost:0.0
    [oracle@exa1 bin]$ ./dbca

    And if I try from a Linux install (Ubuntu) I get this message when logging on:
    X11 forwarding request failed on channel 0
    And this when I try to start DBUA:
    [oracle@exa1 bin]$ ./dbua
    DISPLAY not set.
    Set DISPLAY environment variable, then re-run.

    Edited by: 933746 on Jun 5, 2012 2:19 PM
  • 5. Re: X and display
    tychos Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi,
    Did you changed the X11Forwarding setting on the Exadata compute nodes side in sshd_config?
    File
    /etc/ssh/sshd_config
    Section
    # Accept locale-related environment variables
    Change to yes
    X11Forwarding yes
    Please post your result
    Regards,
    Tycho
  • 6. Re: X and display
    936749 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    tychos wrote:
    Hi,
    Did you changed the X11Forwarding setting on the Exadata compute nodes side in sshd_config?
    File
    /etc/ssh/sshd_config
    Section
    # Accept locale-related environment variables
    Change to yes
    X11Forwarding yes
    Please post your result
    Regards,
    Tycho
    Hi, I need root access to modify this file. I'll update as soon as I've managed to logon as root (don't have the new password atm)
    Regards
    Mr 933746
  • 7. Re: X and display
    robinsc Explorer
    Currently Being Moderated
    alternatively I belive installation of a vnc server is supported on the compute nodes and then you can use vnc viewer for any x display work...
  • 8. Re: X and display
    936749 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi, Thanks this solved my problem.

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points