1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Jul 17, 2012 5:48 PM by lxiscas RSS

How to pass a cursor's result to javascript code in APEX?

lxiscas
      Hi, Guys:

I am new to Apex and java script. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what document I should look for to pass a cursor generated by PL/SQL to java script code in APEX?

Thanks.

Sam
        • 1. Re: How to pass a cursor's result to javascript code in APEX?
          VC
          lxiscas wrote:
          Hi, Guys:

I am new to Apex and java script. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what document I should look for to pass a cursor generated by PL/SQL to java script code in APEX?
          No, You won't be able to pass the PL/SQL cursor to JavaScript.

Because PL/SQL is server-side and JavaScript is client/browser side, that means JavaScript can only get hold of what ever is already loaded in the browser.

Can you tell me why would you need to do that? so that I can explain you how to do the same.

Better you learn JavaScript by going through this easy tutorial http://www.w3schools.com/js/default.asp
          • 2. Re: How to pass a cursor's result to javascript code in APEX?
            lxiscas
            Hi:

Thanks for your advice. I have been learning java script basics with W3 school for several days. However, I need more suggestion about direction. I need to develop a GIS system with APEX and Google map service. In this application I need to mark multiple points on Google map with javascript; these points' geocoding will be retrieved from a database. I can draw map with markers, and I can write PL/SQL to generate geocoding list, but I do not know how to pass these geocoding values to java script code.

Thanks again for your advice.

Sam
            • 3. Re: How to pass a cursor's result to javascript code in APEX?
              Joe Upshaw
              Just create some hidden page items to store on the page. P13_POINT_1, P13_POINT_2, etc.