4 Replies Latest reply: Jul 16, 2012 7:18 AM by 945083 RSS

Using AbstractTableModel - problem when passing User Defined Tree Objects

***Same question also posted on code ranch***:

http://www.coderanch.com/t/584706/GUI/java/AbstractTableModel-show-data-user-defined

I seem to have offended some people by not linking both articles and so am including the link at the top of the post (I realised it was less visible at the bottom where it was previously) I also asked the mods on code ranch to remove my account from the site, however I can see the topic is still visible although my account is indeed gone. I hope that having just the one question will clear up any confusion and will avoid getting similar responses here

Hi all, I have a problem when passing a user defined class to an extended AbstractTableModel

I will ask up front for some patience as I am new to Java having done most of my (bad) coding in .NET :)

Scenario: I have a form with a jTree, I make several calls to a database and I populate the jTree (lazily) with the returned objects, I pass these objects to different Classes (defined by me) to store the relevant information. When the use selects a Node in the jTree I would like to retrieve the user object and display its details in a jTable (in .NET I used the ListView and jTable seems to be the best thing in Java)

I coded a new AbstractTableModel inside the main class and call it when the user selects a node, this code works fine and I can set column names and return tree node data, however this is within the main class.....so.....

After doing some reading and looking at some examples I decided to create my own AbstractTableModel class for each of my own classes and then instantiate them on demand by passing the selected tree node to the relevant table model (sounds reasonable??)