6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 28, 2012 7:36 AM by Michaelhwebb-Oracle RSS

Solaris cluster basics

user10630473
      Hi Everyone,

I am a complete newbie to Solaris Clustering and have managed to get a 2 node cluster installed using a Solaris Cluster Quorum server.

I am looking for some assistance or pointers to the next steps for clustering an application, can anyone point me at any cheat sheets/walk throughs so I can get a grass roots understanding of all the required steps.. The Oracle Cluster Admin guide is information overload and so I am looking for a basic guide for what I need to have in place.

Many thanks

Mike
        • 1. Re: Solaris cluster basics
          HartmutStreppel
          Hi Mike,
          I really would go with the "Oracle Solaris Cluster Concepts Guide" (http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E18728_01/html/821-2682/index.html) first. It gives you a clear understanding of how the cluster is supposed to work.

There are a couple of how-to's on http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/server-storage/solaris-cluster/documentation/cluster-how-to-1389544.html . I think they are helpful too.

To start deploying HA services, I would go with
          a) configuring an HA file system
          b) configuring an HA IP address
          c) configuring a simple HA service based on GDS (see: http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E18728_01/html/821-2848/gds-1.html)

For b) just do a
          clrg create test-rg; clrslh create -g test-rg <name of IP address); clrg online -M test-rg
          Then you should have an HA IP address that you can switch between nodes.

BTW: The documentation I quote is for OSC 3.3 5/11. If you are on S11 and OSC 4.0 please use http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E23623_01/index.html
          Regards
          Hartmut
          • 2. Re: Solaris cluster basics
            user10630473
            Thanks,

I am interested in how I can get the shared file system setup using iscsi mounter ZFS pools.

I have found a number of resources but nothing is 100 clear.