This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 27, 2012 12:57 PM by tychos RSS

DBFS Exadata

936749 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
We have several databases that we're going to migrate to Exadata. All of the databases exports are too large to fit on the filesystem on Exadata. As I understand we need to use DBFS to mount the ASM volum to our filesystem (Is this correct?).
In note 1054431.1 it assumes the following:
3.In the procedures listed in this note, both Solaris and Linux database servers are assumed to have user equivalence for root and the DBFS respository database (typically "oracle") users. Each of those users is assumed to have a dbs_group file in their $HOME directory that contains a list of cluster hostnames. The dcli utility is assumed to be available on both Solaris and Linux database nodes.

As I'm new to Exadata(used to single node database and filesystem) I have no idea what the dbs_group file is and how I can create it.
All I know is that this file is not in Oracle / Root home directories.

Can anyone please advice?
Regards

Edited by: 933746 on Jun 26, 2012 9:20 AM
  • 1. Re: DBFS Exadata
    933318 Newbie
    1. What storage servers is your current systems running, if its just an NFS,
    then all you need to do is jus mount them on exadata servers and use RMAN and migrate to ASM on exadata.

2, If you are already using a ASM. Then you have two options.

1. Use a RMAN active duplicate( This will be very slow with I/O being a big bottle neck.
    2. Take a backup on NFS filesystem and then use RMAN duplicate.
  • 2. Re: DBFS Exadata
    936749 Newbie
    930315 wrote:
    1. What storage servers is your current systems running, if its just an NFS,
    then all you need to do is jus mount them on exadata servers and use RMAN and migrate to ASM on exadata.

2, If you are already using a ASM. Then you have two options.

1. Use a RMAN active duplicate( This will be very slow with I/O being a big bottle neck.