This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 10, 2012 10:04 AM by 919625 RSS

Screen Names

919625 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I'm still new to OPA and taking on existing rulebases at work. I have a question concerning maintenance.

Our rule has an Interview folder with the question screens that will be executed. I was told we are doing this because the business users wanted several questions that only collect data to appear on the same screen. In the .doc a condition such as "the screen 'Able to Work' has been displayed" exists. My question is can the screen name 'Able to Work' be a variable and not hardcoded? It just seems that this is open to a lot of errors if someone renamed the screen and then did not update the .doc.

Thank you.

Regards,
Carol
  • 1. Re: Screen Names
    frank.hampshire Expert
    Carol,

The text of the variable "the screen 'Able to Work' has been displayed" is just text. There is an underlying boolean variable that will, presumably, be set to true when the appropriate screen has been displayed. If they change the name of the screen, the variable won't change, so it shouldn't break.

Changing the screen name, or even the boolean values text should not affect behavior, so, from this point of view you are probably ok, in that, its not as fragile as you think.

Cheers
    Frank
  • 2. Re: Screen Names
    Jasmine Lee Expert
    Frank - I think Carol's interpretation is correct. The attribute she mentioned ("the screen 'Able to Work' has been displayed") sounds like a screen attribute, not a regular attribute. This means that if the question screen is renamed, then the screen will no longer be picked up by the procedural rule, and instead I'd expect she'd get an automatic screen with the question "Has the screen 'Able to Work' been displayed?"

(Create a screen attribute: http://docs.oracle.com/html/E27987_01/Content/Interviews%20and%20flows/Create%20_modify_or_delete_a_question_screen.htm#CreateScreenAttribute)