This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Jul 11, 2012 3:22 PM by EJP RSS

How to call a C sort function to sort a Java Array.

948886 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
My name is David, I'm interning this summer doing some High Performance Computing work. I'm significantly out of my comfort zone here; I am primarily a network/network security geek, not a programming guy. I took one Java based class called problem solving with programming where we wrote like 3 programs in Java and did everything else in pseudocode and using a program called Alice http://www.alice.org/ to do things graphically. Learned basically no actual programming syntax. Also have done some self-taught perl, but only through one book and I didn't finish it, I only got about half way through it. So my expertise in programming are pretty much null.

That being said, I currently am tasked with having to figure out how to make JNI work... specifically at this time I am tasked with writing an array in Java, and designing a C program that can be called by means of JNI to sort the array. I have chosen to work with the Merge Sort algorithm. My method of coding is not one where I write the entire thing from scratch, I don't particularly have a need to master languages at this point, rather I just need to make them work. I am interested in learning, but time is of the essence for me right now. So thus far what I have done is take sample codes and tweak them to meet my purpose. However, I currently am unable to make things work. So I am asking for help.