This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply: Nov 7, 2012 1:01 PM by ReubenC Go to original post RSS
  • 15. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    hey ym (thanks for the reply)
    i will remember to mark it as answered.. waiting to fix it..
  • 16. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    the machine i am backing up my files to is a static ip
    on both sides i am using the user 'Administrator'
    there is no other user in both machines right now
    both my side and the static ip side i have added 'Administrator' in 'logon as service' and 'logon as batch job'
    what do you mean by "Local Admins, the local admin user, the domain admin user"
    do i need to add this even if i am using the 'Administrator' user??
    one more thing
    FYI : the new static ip is a new machine, there is no oracle installed on it and hence no oracletnslistener
    will this have any affect??
    thanks in advance..
    946207

    Edited by: 946207 on Jul 17, 2012 10:46 PM
  • 17. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    720708 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    hi,
    please check this link http://www.oracle.com/webfolder/technetwork/tutorials/obe/db/10g/r2/prod/install/wininst/wininst_otn.htm
    "Post Installation Tasks" section.

    "what do you mean by "Local Admins, the local admin user, the domain admin user"".
    if you use "Administrator" for both side and those user have same passwords, its ok. its enough for this issue.


    "the new static ip is a new machine, there is no oracle installed on it and hence no oracletnslistener
    will this have any affect??"

    Now install oracle software using the "Administrator" user.
    create database then check above link "post installation Tasks" section.
    in that exapmle they have used "oracle" user , you can use "Administrator" user instead of "oracle" user.
    try above.
  • 18. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    please help everybody
    nothings happening here
    really desperate
    thanks

    Edited by: 946207 on Jul 18, 2012 2:47 AM
  • 19. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    720708 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    hi,
    we use rman backup to backup database to network shared location.
    our source and target machine platform is windows 2003 server 64 bit and db version 10gr2.
    its working.
    regards
  • 20. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    my target location is windows seven
    and before i try on the server that is a static ip on the cloud(win server 2003)
    i need to check it on win xp
    so first
    win xp to win seven(static ip)
    if this works
    win server 2003(static ip) to windows seven(static ip)
    there is internet enabled on all computers
    any other settings that i am missing out??
    i am getting "0s53 network path not found" continuously
    thanks
  • 21. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    hey ym
    just fyi i am using the internet here to transfer the files, yours is a lan i feel..
    and please help..everybody
    thank you
  • 22. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hello people
    will this be solved if i start using 11gr2
    coz thats the next thing i am doing anyway
    thanks

    Edited by: 946207 on Jul 19, 2012 6:03 PM
  • 23. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    fjfranken Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    946207 wrote:
    Hello people
    will this be solved if i start using 11gr2
    coz thats the next thing i am doing anyway
    thanks
    Your problem is a WINDOWS problem, not an Oracle problem
    So using Oracle 11gR2 brings you nothing more.
  • 24. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    thanks fjfranken
    so how do i solve this issue ??
    other than adding disk space
    this is really important
    is there any other type of sharing?? apart from 'mapping a network drive' in windows server 2003 for sharing between two static ips??
    what if i raise an sr?? will they solve this??
    what might be causing this in rman??
    please reply people
    thanks in advance
  • 25. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    949210 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    greetings
    have not been able to fix the remote backup issue yet
    probably mapping a network drive is not the right option
    please tell me the option to be used
    (
    a gentle nudge to all these people using windows since it seems like they are successfully backing up the rman backups to a different server
    oradba
    ym
    smriti
    balazs papp
    fjfranken
    nunzio cafarelli
    925652
    )
    here both sides there are static ips
    windows server 2003 on one side
    and windows seven on the other
    the network drive is accessible and writable so the permissions are appropriate
    the services remote connection manager and remote registry are enabled
    routing and remote access is disabled
    tcp/ip netbios helper is enabled
    computer browser service is enabled
    enable netbios over tcp/ip is checked
    the services have logon as "Local system"
    discovery is on
    password prompt is off
    using UNC(Universal Naming Convention) for mapping a network drive
    have given "full control" to "everybody"
    "client for microsoft networks" is checked with "windows locator" as its option
    using "send lm and ntlm -use ntlmv2 session security if negotiated" on both sides
    thanks people

    Edited by: 946207 on Jul 30, 2012 9:57 AM
  • 26. Re: backingup rman backups to a different static ip
    ReubenC Explorer
    Currently Being Moderated
    As I understand it, "the services have logon as 'Local system'" is causing the issue.
    Oracle (rman in particular) needs permissions to the UNC share. The way to give it those permissions is to have the services run as the domain user with permissions to the UNC share AND make that domain user an explicit member of the local administrators group on the Oracle server. Best to try in a test environment if possible...

    Also, don't try to refer to a particular mapped drive letter in RMAN. Use the full path of the UNC share.
1 2 Previous Next

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points