This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 31, 2012 1:55 AM by user469 RSS

Is the StorageTek 2500 useless without Array Manager software?

955026 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I'm pretty new to the Sun hardware club. I just got 2 servers (x4100 and 2100) and 2 arrays (2530 and 2510) plus lots of disks from a friends company. I thought I was lucky and searched for firmware, software and stuff to get the arrays configured. I got the documentation and now want to use Common Array Manager.

Pretty soon I had to find out that with the switch to Oracle, lots of stuff has disappeared. Many links to Common Array manager downloads do not work. The rest lead me to the Support contract page, which I apparently do not have.

Is there a way to register for just software downloads for this "old" hardware? I'm just a technician/computer science student trying to get some expertise by self-learning. I do not see much sense in paying a contract for old non-supported products.

Is my hardware rendered useless? Is there a simple free support plan avaiable?

IBM and HP (from which I do have some servers around) do have all the drivers, firmwares and such available on their website. Even my nearly 15 years old eServer still has all the drivers for download.

thanks for the heads up,
Philon
  • 1. Re: Is the StorageTek 2500 useless without Array Manager software?
    Nicolas Wipfli - Oracle Expert
    Hi,

Sun Storage Common Array Manager (CAM) is free of charge however in order to download it, you need to have a valid login on our web site https://support.oracle.com and this login needs to be associated to contract or warranty in order to download CAM. It is not possible to download CAM if you do not have a valid login entitled to download CAM.

If you have any questions about that, do not hesitate to call our sales support organisation which can assist you.

Regards
    Nicolas
  • 2. Re: Is the StorageTek 2500 useless without Array Manager software?