This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Oct 22, 2012 11:37 PM by 945083 RSS

Question: JFrame or JDialog for new application window(s) and frame(s)?

945083 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All - I realise this may be a really dumb/stupid question but I haven't really found an answer anywhere yet. I'm new to Java but have developed apps in .NET for a few years now and am looking for some advice and direction on basic Swing application layout/design planning

In my .NET application I had a main form for the main application, when the user selected menu options or clicked a button (or right click etc) I would simply call a new form item. In .NET a form is a form, it just holds buttons/controls etc and has its own methods and subs and does not differentiate between form objects. I design these separately and code them individually as each form would perform different tasks, then from my main form I call them whenever they are required - all controls are accessible from any part of the code

After doing some reading and searching I (think) that Java Swing basically encourages the use of only 1 main JFrame and then if you need another form to enter data on or store separate related controls then I believe that you need (or are encouraged to use) a JDialog to do this? Is there an issue if I have say 5 or 6 JFrames called from the main window or is it better to use the JDialog?

I have added both another JFrame and also a JDialog to my work in progress and I can call both by using the standard .setVisible call from the main app, so my question relates to which is the best practice in Swing? What are the advantages/disadvantages of using one or the other approach?