This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 7, 2013 7:52 AM by svk1965 RSS

open Skillbuilders modal page from report

894695 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I want to open the Skillbuilders modal page from within a report. The first column in a report represents the primary key of the table the report shows. What is the best way to do that?

The idea is this: in the report region, there's a button CREATE that opens the modal dialog by Skillbuilders. A user can enter some data, clicks submit, modal dialog closes and report is refreshed. That's working now. Now I want to add a link to the first column in the report, that also opens the modal dialog, passing the value of the primary key of the row the user clicks on.

I'm not that experienced with Javascript, I guess I'll have to create an dynamic action with a jquery selector, and as a true action, a javascript call to open the dialog. Can someone give me a start?

Thanks in advance!
  • 1. Re: open Skillbuilders modal page from report
    954839 Newbie
    A Dynamic action can be a good solution:

- I would give the buttons a classname like 'myLinkButton'
    - To make it easy, also give the column with the primary key a classname like 'myKey'
    - Then create a Dynamic action using the button class as selector (best use live binding when working with a report)
    .myLinkButton
    // or
    #myReportId .myLinkButton //If using the same button class on multiple reports
    - Then u can add an (javascript) action to set a page item with the id like this
    /*
    this.triggeringElement => gives back the button 
    .closest('tr') => gives back the button's row
    .find('.myKey') => gives back the column with the key (also can use the selector 'td[header="headerName"]', then you don't need to give a classname)
    .text() => gives the text within the selected column.
    */
    var key = $(this.triggeringElement).closest('tr').find('.myKey').text();