8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 3, 2012 12:16 PM by user13130025 RSS

Export allocated data from HPCM back to HP

Hi Gurus,

I'm very new to HPCM... Our team now is working on a HP and a HPCM model and try to link them together. We're stucked at the point of how to export/feed the allocated data at HPCM back to HP?

Our scenario is:
      1. we got an expense account with receiving costs from other accounts
      2. We set user can only view and generate reports at HP
      3. Both HP and HPCM dimensions are the same; HPCM dimensions set as "local" for the sake of data integrity at HP
      3. The cost in that expense account after allocation exporting back to HP dimension

Is our approach correct?
      If yes then how to do the data feed from HPCM to HP? We've tried to set to "shared" but doesn't work. And indeed this approach doesn't fit our model as we just need some accounts values in HPCM back to HP.

Any ideas?
      Thanks in advance!

G
        • 1. Re: Export allocated data from HPCM back to HP
          MattRollings
          DATAEXPORT and a Load Rule, Data Synchronization, ODI

There are many tools that can extract data from Essbase.

::EDIT::

Whoops! I forgot 11.1.2.2 has microcosting which is stored in a relational database.

What HPCM engine are you using? Standard or Microcosting?

Edited by: MattRollings on Aug 29, 2012 8:33 AM
          • 2. Re: Export allocated data from HPCM back to HP
            Thanks for your update!

We're using 11.1.2.2 standard and yes we have come up some research using dataexport and load rule. But it's mainly extracting from Essbase to HPCM. How about from HPCM to Essbase? Is it the same way?
            • 3. Re: Export allocated data from HPCM back to HP
              MattRollings
              HPCM is bulit on Essbase, so it should not matter. Micro-costing is different, it uses a relational database to do the allocations not a BSO cube.