This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 8, 2012 10:15 PM by 794600 RSS

Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 6 or Java SE 7. Which one is better?

958818 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi I am new to this blog and would be really thankful if I could know which one amongst Java SE6 and Java SE7 certification is better. I was planning to take the SE6 classes and appear for the exam in a couple of months, but if SE7 is much better then I'd go SE7. Would be thankful if I could be guided well. Thanks
  • 1. Re: Oracle Certified Professional, Java SE 6 or Java SE 7. Which one is better?
    bigdelboy Pro
    955815 wrote:
    Hi I am new to this blog and would be really thankful if I could know which one amongst Java SE6 and Java SE7 certification is better. I was planning to take the SE6 classes and appear for the exam in a couple of months, but if SE7 is much better then I'd go SE7. Would be thankful if I could be guided well. Thanks
    I offer you the choice a new car and a three year old car for the same money. Which one is better?

In general the newer the better, but there can be exceptions.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Edited by: bigdelboy on 09-Sep-2012 13:51

Mala Gupta points out below that Java 6 SE OCP requires one exam (IMHO as Java 6 SE OCA is not a required pre-requisite) whereas for JAVA 7 SE OCP the Java 6 SE OCA is a prequisite. So one now has 2 exams versus one. I did not cop onto this.

References:
    http://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=458&get_params=p_track_id:JSE6Prog
    http://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=458&get_params=p_track_id:OCPJSE7

So in car terms this is a choice between a twice as expensive new car or a three year old car ....

To get to Java 7 SE OCP from Java 6 SE OCP I believe there is a sinlge upgrade exam. ...
    http://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=41&p_org_id=&lang=&p_exam_id=1Z0_805