This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 20, 2012 5:58 PM by 896779 RSS

Weblogic not utilizing server CPU

627857 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have a web application I am running on weblogic 10.3.5 .
I have created jmeter load tests to stress the server. No matter how I configure the load tests I cannot get weblogic to take more than about 25% of the cpu cycles. I have deployed the exact same web application on the same server but with glassfish 2.1.1 and glassfish will utilize much more of the CPU (up to 80%) as a result the load tests are more than twice as fast running on glassfish.

I am new to weblogic so I imagine there maybe some throttling I have not discovered or some tuning I need to apply...

The server is dual intel xeon (24 total cores) 32Gb ram. Also I have been running weblogic with the latest jrocket jvm.
Os is cent 6.4

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I am puzzled by this behavior.
  • 1. Re: Weblogic not utilizing server CPU
    Pierluigi Vernetto Pro
    maybe the problem is that WebLogic doesn+t have free threads to serve your requests.

you can try changing

USER_MEM_ARGS=-Dweblogic.threadpool.MinPoolSize=100

in the setDomainEnv.sh shell script....

it's just a wild guess, don't shoot me if it's useless :o) ...

In alternative, you might define a workmanager to associate to your application.... I am just guessing, no clue what it going on there.
  • 2. Re: Weblogic not utilizing server CPU
    Kalyan Pasupuleti-Oracle Expert
    Hi,

we should not use 100% CPU utilization but we can make till 70%-80% of CPU utilization.

I appreciate there are capacity planning details please check following document.

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E13222_01/wls/docs92/perform/basics.html

Regards,
    Kal
  • 3. Re: Weblogic not utilizing server CPU
    627857 Newbie
    That was my initial thought as well. So I tried those things you suggested but with no success.