This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 29, 2013 9:53 AM by 538929 RSS

Application or Custom Authentication of Web Service requests in XDB Servlet

949766 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello

I'm fairly new to Oracle and XDB, and was wondering if it's possible to use XDB Web Services with an application level or Custom Authentication scheme.

I'm using "Oracle Database 11g Release 11.2.0.1.0 - 64bit Production"

Currently I have written a Java Servlet, configured this successfully as per <http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/appdev.112/e23094/xdb23jv1.htm#g1050187> and am using a DB id to access the web service using HTTP Basic Auth.

What I'd like to be able to do run this with an Application level credential, i.e. to avoid DB authentication upfront, authenticate within Servlet code and then connect into DB as a generic identity.

I'm currently struggling to achieve this:
1) Using JDBC server-side internal driver I read that connecting with a different id is not supported <http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B28359_01/java.111/b31224/ssid.htm> and other drivers are intended for other purposes.
2) It's not clear (to me) if anonymous access to Servlets is supported - this implies not <http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/11g/native-oracle-xml-db-web-services-11gr1.php#configure_anonymous_access>

Hence I'm wondering if there is an approved way of doing this.

As potential alternatives:
- I have seen reference to XDB Custom Authentication features <XML DB Repository Custom Security but:
a) can't find much documentation and
b) don't know if this is intended to work with servlets or just WebDAV style HTTP operations.
- I am aware that I could host the Java Servlet on another platform (e.g. Tomcat) and connect into Oracle DB with other driver, but I was hoping to do this "within the DB".
- would mod_plsql (and doing Web Services code in PL/SQL) give me a better option.

Any advise appreciated.

Thanks
Dave

Edited by: 946763 on Sep 10, 2012 6:54 AM