This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Sep 13, 2012 1:26 PM by Levi-Pereira RSS

RMAN to both ASM and Network File system

Neo-b Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello All,

I am using Oracle RAC 11g R2 + ASM.
I am new to RMAN but I am trying to build daily jobs to do the below:

1. Backup my database to the FRA which is on ASM diskgroup +FRA.
2. At the same time I want to backup my database to a Network File System (NFS) in order to be taken by system admins to an archive location that I cannot access it. Since as per my knowledge I cannot copy files from ASM to outside... so for that I am planing to use the format command to the NFS mount point.
3. On daily basis the file in the NFS will be taken by a job (that i am not responsible of) to the Archive, and then it will be purged from this location.
4. I am planing to have my retention policy to windows of 15 days .
5. On daily basis I am planing to cross check my backup and then delete the expired so the one taken from NFS to the archive log will be deleted.

Below is the RMAN that I am planing to run it on daily basis:
backup incremental level 0 cumulative device type disk tag 'FULL_DB_INCR_LV0' database; -- this will be to the default location (+FRA)
backup incremental level 0 cumulative device type disk tag 'FULL_DB_INCR_LV0' database format 'NFS/oracle/backup%U';--another copy to be taken to the archive location
crosscheck backupset;
delete expired backupset; -- this will delete the backups taken to the Archive location
Now my questions:

1. Is it good solutions ? taken into consideration that I need to backup to OS file system in order for the system admins jobs to take the backup to their archive.
2. If any backup is needed, I will use CATALOG START WITH to get it back and then recover.
3. Since My retention period is 15 days, and the backup files in NFS will be removed on daily basis, so this retention will be applied to the backups in ASM, is that an issue?