1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Oct 25, 2012 9:37 AM by 964494 RSS

Need to insert values into a table from a XML file

Hi,
      I'm an Oracle 9i/10g DBA with quite a few years experience, but I'm new to XML and dealing with it in database terms. I've been given a project that entails pulling XML values out of a file (or 100's of them) and storing them in the database so that they are searchable by end-users. The project is classified as secret so I'm unable to upload the specific XML or any info relating to the structire of the XML or the table I will use to insert the values into - sorry!! So, I've created an XML file with a similar structure to help people understand my predicament.

The end-users only need to search on a subset of the total amount of columns from the table I'll insert data into, although the XML file has a lot more, so I dont need to store the other values - but I will need to store the name of the XML file (or a pointer to it so I know what XML file a particular set of values belong to) in another column of the table along with its associated values.

I've been using the XMLTABLE function with some degree of success, although I had better succes using the XMLSEQUENCE function. However, I found out this is deprecated in 10g and replaced with XMLTABLE, so I guess it's better if I use this in case we ever need to upgrade to 11g.

The main problem I've been having is that some elements in the XML files have multiple values for the one record when all the other records are the same. In terms of storing this in the database, I guess it would mean inserting multiple rows in the table for each element where the value differs. Here is a dumbed down XML file similar to what I've got along with the other SQL I've used:

+<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>+
      +<House>+
      +<Warehouse>+
      +<WarehouseId>1</WarehouseId>+
      +<WarehouseName>+
      +<Town>Southlake</Town>+
      +<State>Texas</State>+
      +</WarehouseName>+