This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Jan 30, 2013 4:08 AM by 964809 RSS

'? ; 9/D8@' instead datetime

964809 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello experts

Please, could you help me.

We have Oracle database 10.2.0.5.0 and dg4odbc to connect to MSSQL 2005.

There is a database link:
create database link old_link
connect to old_user identified by 123
using 'my_sid';
It works well. But we got another ms-user and I created new database link:
create database link new_link
connect to new_user identified by 123
using 'my_sid';
Everything is the same, except user name. New link works. It does not generate any errors. But instead datetime columns it shows something like '? ; 9/D8@'. Other columns are correct.

I am new in all this stuff and have no idea what is wrong. Any suggestions are welcome.
  • 1. Re: '? ; 9/D8@' instead datetime
    mkirtley-Oracle Expert
    Hi,
    Are you saying that old_user can select the datetime column successfully but the new_user gets the wrong result ?
    Are they bot selecting fromthe same table ? What is the SSQL*Server create statement for the table in the select ?

Regards,
    Mike
  • 2. Re: '? ; 9/D8@' instead datetime
    kgronau Guru
    Was the Oracle database migrated to a newer release shortly?

This phenomena was happening when the gateway was used for example with the Oracle database 11.2.0.1 (or any other release) and then it was migrated to 11.2.0.3. Since then the date was shown corrupted with existing heterogeneous database links.

The solution is to drop the existing gateway classes using this piece of code being connected as sysdba user:
    DECLARE
    cursor c1 is select fds_class_name from hs_fds_class;
    n1 varchar2(30);
    BEGIN
    open c1;
    LOOP
    BEGIN
    fetch c1 into n1;
    dbms_hs.drop_fds_class(n1);
    EXCEPTION
    when others then exit;
    END;
    END LOOP;
    END;
    /
    commit;