This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Oct 2, 2012 8:48 AM by 955495 RSS

SQL Developer responding slowly

955495 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am connecting to Oracle DB from SQL Developer using remote connection through LDAP. I work with sql server management studio regularly but through sql developer this is my first time.

I find SQl developer slow compared to sql server management studio- IS this true or is it because of the remote connection.?

What steps can I take to improve its speed . Are there any tools or settings that I need to change?

I have a simple insert query into a temporary table which ran for 5 hours.The application does not stop executing after that and I need to end it from task manager. I think this is to do with the buffer size, so I need to commit data in batches to process it more speedily.Are there any settings to do to run data in batches?

Thanks for your time and help
  • 1. Re: SQL Developer responding slowly
    Jim Smith Expert
    Any performance difference is more likely to be down to the DBMS differences rather than the client tools.

I assume you are using SQL Developer against an Oracle database?
    What is your script attempting to do?

If the database is remote then network delays will be made worse by inefficient coding resulting in too many round trips. You need to consider that Oracle and MSSQL work in different ways and what constitutes good practice in one won't necessarily work well in the other.
  • 2. Re: SQL Developer responding slowly
    955495 Newbie
    Hi Jim,

Thanks for the reply. My Query is pulling from two different tables using a nested query.

when I tried running a select * from employee table which took a rough 40 seconds to bring results whereas when I did it in SQL Server management studio, it took around 1-2 seconds to pull the similar amount of data.So I was curious if this was because of the remote connection!?(SQl server is running on my network).