This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 9, 2012 3:54 AM by MrMonza RSS

Installing Oracle Database 11g R2 in Solaris 11 x86-64

user457508 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new to the Solaris environment, I'm trying to install Oracle Database 11g R2 in an Solaris 11 environment. I've checked below that packages that I will need to have in place prior to the install. This information was gathered from the documentation on the website.

pkginfo -i SUNWarc SUNWbtool SUNWhea SUNWlibC SUNWlibms SUNWsprot SUNWtoo SUNWi1of SUNWi1cs SUNWi15cs SUNWxwfnt
system SUNWarc Lint Libraries (usr)
system SUNWbtool CCS tools bundled with SunOS
system SUNWhea SunOS Header Files
system SUNWlibC Sun Workshop Compilers Bundled libC
system SUNWlibms Math & Microtasking Libraries (Usr)
system SUNWsprot Solaris Bundled tools
system SUNWtoo Programming Tools
ERROR: information for "SUNWi1of" was not found
ERROR: information for "SUNWi1cs" was not found
ERROR: information for "SUNWi15cs" was not found
ERROR: information for "SUNWxwfnt" was not found

Above are a list of packages that are in installed on my Solaris 11 system. Where and how can I get the missing packages?

Thanks
  • 1. Re: Installing Oracle Database 11g R2 in Solaris 11 x86-64
    Osama_Mustafa Oracle ACE
    the same cd you installed OS from .

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/solaris-add-install-new-software-packages.html
  • 2. Re: Installing Oracle Database 11g R2 in Solaris 11 x86-64
    9135487 Newbie
    These packages are available on Solaris Media. You can add theses packages using this command
    # pkgadd -d /cdrom/Solaris_11/Product SUNWi1cs SUNWi15cs SUNWi1of SUNWxwfnt
    Where,
    -d is for directory, you can locate where your media is placed and change the command accordingly.

Edited by: 941935 on Oct 3, 2012 10:59 PM
  • 3. Re: Installing Oracle Database 11g R2 in Solaris 11 x86-64
    user457508 Newbie