This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Oct 11, 2012 1:17 AM by Tolls RSS

Where to begin?

966970 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi Everyone,

First of all, I do want to apologize for my beginner question/s. I am actually an inspiring beginner which means I still do not know what or where to begin my Java journey.

My main goal is to build websites using Java but my challenge is where to actually where to start. If anyone can point me to the right direction, I will really really appreciate it.

Thanks everyone in advance.

Best regards,
LG
  • 1. Re: Where to begin?
    966813 Newbie
    Hello LG,

my best suggestion to you is before start with java, be aware of C language ( gives you the fundamental idea of programming and you can get the way of code flow ), then move to C++ so that you can get the basic fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming. I can tell you to don't peep deeply in to the pointer concepts during your journey @ c , c++ as that concept is a very vast one and typical one in the entire C & C++ concepts. Of course, there is no pointer concept in java technology. So, you can skip the pointers concept. Then you can start learning java. First learn the core concepts in java and then start learning a web server, servlets & JSP so that you can start developing the websites in java.

Further you can automatically get the way to learn various frameworks and other web technologies as per your requirements ....

For any, you can mail me @ xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

All the very best,

AnanthaNag Kundanala.

Edited by: sabre150 on Oct 9, 2012 6:39 AM

Moderator action : email address removed
  • 2. Re: Where to begin?
    sabre150 Expert
    963810 wrote:

my best suggestion to you is before start with java, be aware of C language ( gives you the fundamental idea of programming and you can get the way of code flow ), then move to C++ so that you can get the basic fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming.