3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 11, 2012 3:59 PM by EdStevens RSS

Configure SQL*Plus

Learning how Oracle works has been a huge feat for me but now I'm getting frustrated with using SQL*Plus. Currently I have no experience with SQL*Plus and I have read the documentation:

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/server.112/e16604/ch_twelve040.htm#BACGAJIC

My question is I'm looking for advice and or tips on how to set up SQL*Plus to render data I retrieve with the SELECT statement more coherently. I'm using 11.2.0.3 and from a default installation, it doesn't seem to have a rhyme or reason for how it formats the text on my SQL*Plus client. It's just a mess and extremely hard for me to read or understand. For example:
      SQL> SELECT *
        2  FROM CMENNENS.USERS
        3  WHERE USERS_NAME = 'CARLOS MENNENS'
        4  ;

USERS_ID USERS_NAME
      ---------- --------------------------------------------------
      USERS_EMAIL
      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      USERS_DOB
      ---------
            1000 CARLOS MENNENS
      CARLOS@TEST.TLD
      As you can see the coorisponding data doesn't flow underneath the column heading for whatever reason and it makes this hard to read once tables get larger in size. I was told to do the following:
      SQL> set linesize 32765;
      SQL> set pagesize 50;
      The above helped a little but it still looks weird or just not formatted as I expect it to. I really am no expect obviously so reading the docs on something like this is hard. It's not like I want to accomplish 'X' so I read the docs and configure the system to do 'X'. I have no idea what 90% of those functions in the doc ID listed actually will do or break and or their default values. Does anyone know exactly what I should change or look at in order to get some thing that looks as follows:
      zoo=# SELECT *
      zoo-# FROM users
      zoo-# WHERE users_name LIKE 'Carlos%'