This discussion is archived
1 2 3 Previous Next 41 Replies Latest reply: Dec 4, 2012 10:42 AM by Haider Hussain RSS

Good Linux based OS for Oracle 11g R2 on Windows 7 (32 bit) Home Edition

Haider Hussain Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am an Oracle PL/SQL programmer who wants to become an Oracle DBA. In order to gain hands on experience , I wish to install Oracle 11g R2 database on my Windows 7 (32 bit) Home edition system.

Could you please suggest the following :

1. Best online self learning materials available to become an Oracle DBA.
2. A good Linux based OS on which Oracle 11g R2 on my Windows 7 (32 bit) Home edition system.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Haider
  • 1. Re: Good Linux based OS for Oracle 11g R2 on Windows 7 (32 bit) Home Edition
    sb92075 Guru
    user13073680 wrote:
    Hi,

I am an Oracle PL/SQL programmer who wants to become an Oracle DBA. In order to gain hands on experience , I wish to install Oracle 11g R2 database on my Windows 7 (32 bit) Home edition system.

2. A good Linux based OS on which Oracle 11g R2 on my Windows 7 (32 bit) Home edition system.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
    Haider
    Oracle is NOT supported on any Home Edition.

install VirtualBox & deploy prebuilt Unix VM
  • 2. Re: Good Linux based OS for Oracle 11g R2 on Windows 7 (32 bit) Home Edition
    Srini Chavali-Oracle Oracle ACE Director
    Pl see my blog (linked in my profile) on how to install a VM on your Win 7 Home computer, and then install 11gR2 in the VM

HTH
    Srini
  • 3. Re: Good Linux based OS for Oracle 11g R2 on Windows 7 (32 bit) Home Edition
    sb92075 Guru
    user13073680 wrote:
    Hi,

http://docs.oracle.com
  • 4. Re: Good Linux based OS for Oracle 11g R2 on Windows 7 (32 bit) Home Edition
    Haider Hussain Newbie
    Hi Srini,