This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 26, 2012 12:56 PM by 939520 RSS

Any source for java exercises with solution

S M Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Experts,
Need some information.

I am new to JAVA. I have programming background of C and PL/SQL
I know the basics of JAVA and now want to learn JAV through exercises.

I am able to find many exercises but without any solution.
Anybody has idea regarding any form/blogs/websites where I can find java problems with solution. By this I will be able to practice and verify my code with the solution?

Kindly suggest.
Thanks,
M S
  • 1. Re: Any source for java exercises with solution
    gimbal2 Guru
    Not really, its more the territory of books. There is Head First Java which is written to teach through puzzles, games and exercises. Then there is also the official SCJP/OCJP study guide which has a great deal of exercises at the end of each chapter (with the answers in the back of the book). The latter is nice to have if you think about going down the certification route of course, but its quite dry material.

Here is a nice exercise for you I pitch to juniors: create a command line hangman with the following rules and restrictions:

- the game asks for your name and addresses you with it
    - possible words you can guess need to be loaded from a text file. You could use this one for example: https://github.com/andypike/hangman/blob/master/dictionary.txt
    - a word is randomly chosen, the game does NOT allow the same word to be chosen twice in a row
    - you need to be able to play multiple rounds, the game automatically starts a new round each time you win or lose
    - the game keeps track of how many times you won and how many times you lost
    - you can guess wrong at most 10 times
    - the game does not penalize you when you guess a character already guessed before