This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 5, 2012 1:39 AM by S M RSS

Queries regarding JAVA certification

S M Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Experts,

I am new to JAVA. I have programming experience in C and PL/SQL.
I have finished headfirst java (initially 7-8 chapter in very detail and others a go through).
Now to make sure I am learning JAVA I am trying to attach my learning with certification.
Hence I have started searching for SCJP but got confused with OCJP. Through some googling I am sure now that SCJP and OCJP are same.

My queries:-
1. What is the latest version of the book SCJP Sun Certified Katherine Sierra( through reviews seems great book to learn and crack the certification)?
2. I see many JAVA certifications on the website of Oracle. Which one to go? Or which one I will be able crack through the book I mentioned above?

Thanks,
MS
  • 1. Re: Queries regarding JAVA certification
    gimbal2 Guru
    M S wrote:
    Experts,

I am new to JAVA. I have programming experience in C and PL/SQL.
    I have finished headfirst java (initially 7-8 chapter in very detail and others a go through).
    Now to make sure I am learning JAVA I am trying to attach my learning with certification.
    Hence I have started searching for SCJP but got confused with OCJP. Through some googling I am sure now that SCJP and OCJP are same.
    Yep. The difference is S = Sun and O = Oracle.
    My queries:-
    1. What is the latest version of the book SCJP Sun Certified Katherine Sierra( through reviews seems great book to learn and crack the certification)?
    I would recommend that one, yes. The certification website should list resources you can use to prepare.
    2. I see many JAVA certifications on the website of Oracle. Which one to go? Or which one I will be able crack through the book I mentioned above?