This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Nov 5, 2012 9:32 AM by budachst RSS

OVM Virtual Michine Management Questions. Required to make decision on dep.

972076 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi Guys,

I'm new to OVM 3.1.1 and have been testing the product for about a week as we are looking at making a decision on whether or not we will be deploying it in production. I have the following question about the latest release (which i'm running) and need to know if the features below are supported as a few of them dont seem to be from the tests I have performed:

All the question are around live Virtual Machine management (i.e the VM is running).

1- Live Virtual Machine disk expansion
2- Virtual Machine Live addition of new hard drives
3- Virtual Machine Live addition of new NIC
4- Virtual Machine live expansion of RAM and CPU.
5- Virtual Machine Snapshots on NFS, Fiber Channel and iSCSI.
6- DRS live migration for load balancing.
7- Virtual Machine live storage migration from one repo to another on NFS, iSCSI and Fiber Channel.
8- Perform a graceful shutdown of the VM through OVM Manager or OEM (i.e through specific tools in the VM, without having to log into the VM).
  • 1. Re: OVM Virtual Michine Management Questions. Required to make decision on dep.
    user12273962 Pro
    1. Never tried but I would say it depends on what guest you are running. Don't expect to actively resize any disk on a windows guest.
    2. Yes. Again. Success would depend on the guest.
    3. Yes.
    4. Yes.
    5. Not necessarily snapshots but you can certainly clone Guests. They must be stopped. You can certainly use you storage products "snaphot" features. You could create a repo "share" for each guest and do individual snapshots. I've thought about it. If you have a lot of guests..... then its a lot of trouble to setup but very little maintenance once you do.
    6. Live migration are supported. I don't know why you are throwing load balancing in the mix.