This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 7, 2012 11:51 AM by Shivananda Rao RSS

Move RMAN Backup To Server

895327 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I took a backup from our production database server using RMAN:
RMAN> backup full as compressed backupset database plus archivelog delete input;
Now I would like to take this backup to a server that already is running the same version software (11.2.0.3) but I have never done this before and have some questions...

Based on my RMAN command above, I would need to move the backup file, control file, & re-do logs over to my backup server, right? Do I just need those three pieces or would I require more / less?

If the backup server database running the same Oracle database version already contains schema data, will the import of the backup files remove pre-existing data inside the database and just mirror the server to the backup taken or would it be the backup being imported in addition with keeping the pre-existing data preserved?
  • 1. Re: Move RMAN Backup To Server
    mseberg Guru
    Hello;

Assuming you have this set :
    RMAN>CONFIGURE CONTROLFILE AUTOBACKUP ON;
    You only need to move the backup files.

The restore you are speaking of is kind of an SCN Roll forward. Is that what you want to do or do you want to replace the whole database?

I have a similar example which may help :

http://www.visi.com/~mseberg/rman/restore_database_without_catalog.html

Best Regards

mseberg
  • 2. Re: Move RMAN Backup To Server
    Levi-Pereira Guru
    Consider as best practice always include current controlfile in your backup database:
    RMAN> backup full as compressed backupset database include current controlfile plus archivelog delete input; 
  • 3. Re: Move RMAN Backup To Server
    mseberg Guru
    Levi makes a great point. This is a very good habit and will probably save your bacon at some point.

I would do both :
    CONFIGURE CONTROLFILE AUTOBACKUP ON;
    and