This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Nov 20, 2012 5:43 AM by AshPatel2 RSS

Disabling Javascript

AshPatel2 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Application Express 4.1.1.00.23
Internet Explorer - 8
Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.3.0 - 64bit Production

Hi, wondering if someone can help, I am new to APEX so please forgive any lack of knowledge. I am about to embark on my first APEX development and have got far as the login screen. I disabled javascript just to see what would happen if someone had it disable, it turned out by disabling javascript the whole login region dissapeared. I am wondering how to develop the application so it works when javascript is disabled. Can anyone help it seems the theme uses javascript by default I think. I am using the cloudy theme. Not sure how to develop the application as its got to work with javascript disabled.

Thanks and regards
Ash
  • 1. Re: Disabling Javascript
    Scott Oracle ACE Director
    Ash,

Why is your requirement to disable JavaScript? Like most modern websites, APEX makes heavy use of JavaScript & jQuery, and disabling it will cause many issues.

Thanks,

- Scott -

http://spendolini.blogspot.com
    http://www.enkitec.com
  • 2. Re: Disabling Javascript
    AshPatel2 Newbie
    Hi Scott

At our work place there is a requirement that web applications published online need to work if JavaScript is disabled, that's the requirement not sure why this is necessary but it's a rule we have to follow which I don't agree with. Is there a way round this?

Thank an regards
    Ash
  • 3. Re: Disabling Javascript
    Krunal Explorer
    In that case you will have to create login page manually.
  • 4. Re: Disabling Javascript
    VC Guru
    AshPatel2 wrote:
    Hi Scott