6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 15, 2012 1:25 PM by 775972 RSS

insufficient privileges upon executing stored procedure

Hello Gurus,
      i am new to plsql, working on a stored procedure.
      basically, trying to create a temporary table using dynamic sql .. below is my code,upon executing , i am encoutering insufficient privileges error. not sure where i am going wrong. any help is highly appreciated, thanks

---------code - successfully compiled----------
      SQL> CREATE OR REPLACE procedure stp_temp (i_table in varchar2)
      2 is
      3 table_creation_stmt varchar2(4000):='';
      4 begin
      6 table_creation_stmt := 'CREATE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE '||i_table|| ' AS select * from TABLE_STGG';
      7 dbms_output.put_line ('Query is :'||table_creation_stmt);
      8 execute immediate table_creation_stmt;
      9 end;
      10 /

Procedure created.

SQL> exec stp_temp('table123');
      Query is :CREATE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE table123 AS select * from TABLE_STGG
      BEGIN stp_temp('table123'); END;

ERROR at line 1:
      ORA-01031: insufficient privileges
      ORA-06512: at "E3US9T.STP_TEMP", line 8
      ORA-06512: at line 1

------table gets created upon copy/paste from above output ( query is)

SQL> CREATE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE table123 AS select * from TABLE_STGG;

Table created.
        • 1. Re: insufficient privileges upon executing stored procedure
          sb92075
          Sandeep Thakur wrote:
          Hello Gurus,
          basically, trying to create a temporary table using dynamic sql .. below is my code,upon executing , i am encoutering insufficient privileges error. not sure where i am going wrong. any help is highly appreciated, thanks

2 is
          4 begin
          6 table_creation_stmt := 'CREATE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE '||i_table|| ' AS select * from TABLE_STGG';
          9 end;
          10 /

Procedure created.

ERROR at line 1:

Table created.
          privilege acquired via ROLE does NOT apply within named PL/SQL procedure