This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Dec 6, 2012 6:15 PM by Victor Armbrust RSS

Migrating from Oracle 10g database to 11g RAC on Exadata

735680 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I am new to migration activity. My environment is Sun Solaris OS running Oracle 10g R2 and the database size is 900GB. Now i am planning to migrate 10g R2 to Exadata X2-2 which is having OS-OEL and database 11g R2. Please suggest me the way to migrate and what all the challenges will i face.

Regards,
Bobs
  • 1. Re: Migrating from Oracle 10g database to 11g RAC on Exadata
    JohnWatson Guru
    Big project! You will (almost certainly) be using Oracle ACS for the initial implementation, it is hard to buy Exadata without buying consulting too. Given that the hardware and RAC licenses are very expensive, you will have gone through a POC exercise already (again, probably with ACS support.) Did that not include migration techniques?
    Or are you trying to do it all yourself? This is possible, and can save a lot of money.
    Either way, you will find that the hard work comes later. The POC does nothing more than, well, prove the concept. Actually getting the real benefits Exadata can deliver will take months of post-implementation tuning.
    So what stage are you at?
  • 2. Re: Migrating from Oracle 10g database to 11g RAC on Exadata
    735680 Newbie
    Hi john,

We already implemented Exadata. Now i need to export the data from Oracle 10g database which is running on Solaris to Exadata 11g with OEL any idea on this.

Regards,
    Bobs
  • 3. Re: Migrating from Oracle 10g database to 11g RAC on Exadata
    JohnWatson Guru
    Are you still doing the POC? If so, you might want to consider running the compute nodes on Solaris 11.

Well, a little 900G database is very small, even for a quarter rack DB machine. The logical migration techniques are Data Pump, Streams, or logical standby.