This discussion is archived
1 2 3 Previous Next 36 Replies Latest reply: Nov 25, 2012 11:20 AM by 975768 RSS

Oracle 11g Enterprise edition listener can't get started

975768 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi dear all, I am a newbie.My oracle11g enterprise edition listener can't get started,I tested the status of listener,I got information like this:
LSNRCTL> status
Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=IPC)(KEY=EXTPROC1521)))
TNS-12541: TNS:no listener
TNS-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error
TNS-00511: No listener
64-bit Windows Error: 2: No such file or directory
Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=localhost)(PORT=1521)))
64-bit Windows Error: 61: Unknown error
I have installed my oracle 11g enterprise edition only once successfully, and I have never uninstalled it.The problem was strange, the day before yesterday everything was working well,just yesterday morning after I started my computer, then I went to the services to start OracleserviceORCL,meanwhile I noticed the listener wasn't starting.Once I start the listener,it goes automaticlly "stop".I couldn't figure out why,it was really really frustrated.I googled a lot,got some information,but none of them gives me a clear answer.I don't know how to do and what to do.
I can use sql developer to access a remote database account,but not to my own Oracle database account.I can still access my database from dos,this means my oracle database is still good.What happened to the listener?What should I do next?Please help me.Thanks to everyone ahead of time and happy Thanksgivings!

BTW,My operating system is windows 7, 64bit.
  • 1. Re: Oracle 11g Enterprise edition listener can't get started
    phaeus Pro
    Hello,
    have you installed something recently? Check your env variables from the dos box. Have you set ORACLE_HOME, is your PATH VAR showing your oracle home first against others?
    Did you have more than one oracle home on your client?
    regards
    Peter