This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Nov 23, 2012 11:30 PM by 905019 RSS

Java Server Faces and MVC approach

975927 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi, I am developing my first Java Server Faces web application. I started learning Java some years ago and my Java knowledge is about book Core Java Vol 1 and most part of Vol. 2 by Cay Horstmann.
During this period of time I have learned the MVC approach to object oriented programming..

The web application I am developing is an application that allows users to upload a text file from a webpage. The server will load these words into a database, and then it will let the user modify those words from a webpage. Then it will let the user download the corrected file.

Basing on the knowledge I had, and probably making a mistake I started developing the server side part with a MVC approac. So all database functions, the controller, etc. Then I started to study how to implement the client side user interface.

Studying Java Server Faces on book Core Java Server Faces by Cay Horstmann, introduced me to the concept of Java Beans, a new (to me) approach to user-side user interface.

At this point I am a bit confused and I have some dubts between the classic Java application with MVC approach and the Java Bean of JSF approach.
In classic Java applications your software starts with the main function... It instantiates all main class objects like the controller, the exceptions handler class object, the class objects about the GUI, etc.
Instead, what about JSF? Where is the “birth” of the program execution? Where/Who is the controller of exceptions, user mistakes, etc???

Thank you for your time
  • 1. Re: Java Server Faces and MVC approach
    gimbal2 Guru