6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 28, 2012 6:13 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias RSS

Java Regex Pipe Delimited ?

Hello

I am trying to split the string which is pipe delimited. I am new to Regex and new to Java.

My Java/Regex code line to split is:

listColumns = aLine.split("\\|"); // my code has 2 backslash-escapes chars plus 1 pipe char but this forum does not allow me to put pipes or escapes correctly and plain text help is of NO HELP 8^(

My input string has 3 leading and 4 trailing pipe characters

My Output from split: (3 leading emptry strings work but 4 trailing pipe delimiters dont work)

SplitStrings2:[]
      SplitStrings2:[col1]
      SplitStrings2:[col3]
      SplitStrings2:[col4]

I do get 3 empty strings for all 3 leading pipes but no empty strings for the any traling 4 pipe characters.

What do I need to change the code such that all repeated pipes resulted in same number of empty strings returned by split method?

thanks
      YuriB

Edited by: yurib on Nov 28, 2012 12:25 PM

Edited by: yurib on Nov 28, 2012 12:25 PM

Edited by: yurib on Nov 28, 2012 12:29 PM
        • 1. Re: Java Regex Pipe Delimited ?
          jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias
          1. The pipe is a meta-character so escape it.
          2. Split rolls things up for you unless you tell it otherwise.
          String s = "|||A|B|C||||";
          String[] array = s.split("[|]", 10);
          for(int i=0; i < array.length; i++)
               System.out.println("" + i + ": " + array);

• 2. Re: Java Regex Pipe Delimited ?
            thanks, I was missing the limit parameter, I incorrectly assumed that the default limit was reasoable i.e. will process the whole line without limit or some large number.
            I was wrong.

So thanks for the correct and quick answer! My program works now.

Given I don't know how many pipes/delimiters will be present on any one line/record, I used -1 as a limit.

I could have used some arbitrarily large number, like 10000, as limit.