This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jan 8, 2013 5:38 AM by riosg RSS

Installing HFM on new VM environments and SQL database.

riosg Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to HFM. I am using HFM 11.1.1.3.500 and I had the databases restored to new SQL server. I am installing HFM on new VMs. I spoke with Oracle support and the tech told me I could reinstall and run the EPM System Configurator and configure to new SQL server. I am trying to configure Workspace, Reporting and Analysis, using the EPM System Configurator and when the components screen comes up, it shows the old Servername for Workspace, Finanacial Reporting, and Web Analysis. How do I get those Server names changed to new VM. All other products installed correctly.
  • 1. Re: Installing HFM on new VM environments and SQL database.
    hyperionEPM Journeyer
    Hello,
    For the components apart from Shared Service you can select 'Perform first time Configuration' and Modify the related info there. Once you click next EPM System configurator will ask if you want to 'Drop' or 'Reuse', select the 'Resuse' option and configure Database.

For Shared Service you can take a backup of reg.properties, delete it and then run Configurator which will then ask for the Shared service information and will create new reg.properties file.

Thanks,
    HyperionEPM
    Please mark answers as helpful or correct for others to find easily

Edited by: hyperionEPM on Dec 5, 2012 1:41 AM
  • 2. Re: Installing HFM on new VM environments and SQL database.
    riosg Newbie
    How about doing a restore from production to a DR site. Do you know which tables I should restore that will keep the DR site working when restoring the databases,(ie...HFM,CALC, BIPLUS, EPMA, EXT, FDM)? Would I have to just keep the HFM, HSV, and HSX tables in HFM database?
  • 3. Re: Installing HFM on new VM environments and SQL database.
    VenkatKuravarapu Newbie