This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2012 3:17 PM by Dude! RSS

Poor SSD disk IO speed in Oracle Linux 6.3 (Windows migration)

978527 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I am trying to migrate from Windows to Oracle Linux, but I'm seeing very poor disk IO speeds. It's probably a tuning thing, but I'm relatively new to Oracle Linux and could use some detailed advice.

I took one physical server and migrated it from Windows 2008R2 to Oracle Linux 6.3 while maintaing the same Oracle version (11.2.0.3 Enterprise with ASM) and the same hardware (quad CPU 48 core HP DL585 G7 with 128GB RAM, 7 LSI 9200-8e HBAs, 28 Samsung SSD Drives). Disk IO performance, as measured using Oracle IO Calibration, was ~7,800MB/Second and 440K IOPS under windows but fell to ~2,400MB/Second and 250K IOPS under Linux.

Oracle Linux and the DB were installed using default values. The Oracle tools seem to have done a great job setting all of the obvious IO tuning parameters like the scheduler, but I figure that there are other important IO-related OS or DB parameters and that I have failed to configure the system properly.

My goal for the migration is sequential read IO speed and I would have bet money that Linux would provide better performance than Windows. I still think that it should. What basic IO tuning should I do for Oracle Linux using ASM and SSD drives?

Thank you!

Some details:
Oracle DB 11.2.0.3 enterprise installed via the GUI with the "Data Warehousing" template
ASM - single disk group, 28 SSD disks, AU=4MB
Oracle memory: Automatic memory management, 64GB allocated
Non-default Oracle params: filesystemio_options=setall, disk_asynch_io=true

Edited by: 975524 on Dec 7, 2012 8:56 AM
  • 1. Re: Poor SSD disk IO speed in Oracle Linux 6.3 (Windows migration)
    Dude! Guru