3 Replies Latest reply: Dec 10, 2012 1:03 PM by Matthew Morris RSS

Guidance Welcome

Hi

I am working on testing project (i.e Manual Testing- Integration Testing), I have asked in my company to give me chance to work on oracle product but its of no use
      I am OCP 10g admin. so my question is how I can move from here to DBA post, i know its not difficult

I know if you don't get exp on Oracle Certification have no value

I want to know "How I can prepare for Oracle DBA interview?"

and In next year I will be going to give the upgrade exam for 11G, but till then how to go for interview though I am new in Oracle DBA

Thanks
      T-J
        • 1. Re: Guidance Welcome
          Matthew Morris
          I am OCP 10g admin. so my question is how I can move from here to DBA post, i know its not difficult
          I'm not sure what you mean by the above. Working as an Oracle DBA can be difficult, so I assume you don't mean that. Getting a job as an Oracel DBA can be difficult, so I don't think you mean that. With that I'm out of guesses. As far as getting a job as a DBA, the subject is common enough here that I wronte an article on it:

I Just Got an Oracle Certification - How Can I Get Hired As a DBA?
          http://ezinearticles.com/7057698
          I know if you don't get exp on Oracle Certification have no value
          'No' value is a bit harsh. The information required for passing the certification test is good preparation for working as a DBA. It is true that they are not a substitute for actual experience working as a DBA.
          I want to know "How I can prepare for Oracle DBA interview?"
          The article above deals with this somewhat. The primary thing is not to take your OCP certificate as the end of learning about Oracle. There are a number of very good books on Oracle administration that are not geared towards the OCP exams. Obtaining and reading one or more will help to expand the knowledge you need for working as a DBA.