This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 14, 2012 3:56 AM by Osama_Mustafa RSS

What should i plan for the year 2013...

user8983130 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am working for a IT shop for 3.5 years as an Oracle dba. And today i ask myself what i have done in these days and what i i have learn in 3.5 years. The result is =0. I know nothing. As a dba i do regular dba task and whenever some thing happen , i jumped this forum , get the answer and apply. I am so frustrated. But enough is enough. From know i have decided every day i would spend 4-5 hours on studying as i have stay ofs for a long time but work pressure is very very less. But now the question...from where i would start and what would be the area i should cover. I have some conceptual idea about oracle,rman and data guard. Now i want to make a list how i would plan the course..Plss suggest:

I want to plan like:

1.Oracle Concept

2.RAC..

3.Pl/Sql

4.Shell...

5Any thing that is relevant with the career path .
So on....

Please give me some suggestion how i would advance with different feature which i would help to survive for a long time???

Regards,
  • 1. Re: What should i plan for the year 2013...
    damorgan Oracle ACE Director
    The first step is definitely to read the concepts guide.

Then for a DBA I strongly recommend that you forget being a DBA and write SQL and PL/SQL until you can write a stored procedure with nested loops using BULK COLLECT without having to read the docs ... then ... go back and read the 2 Day DBA doc.

I wouldn't spend too much time worrying about shell scripting ... I haven't found many justifications for writing one in a very long time. I also wouldn't spend too much time, for awhile, worrying about RAC or Data Guard and other high-end features. What makes a strong DBA is understanding the basics which these days is getting rarer and rarer as things are dumbed down.
  • 2. Re: What should i plan for the year 2013...
    EdStevens Guru