This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Dec 19, 2012 8:24 AM by 980644 RSS

log corruption during dataguard transfer

980644 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Disclaimer - I am not a DBA. I am a storage admin looking at this because to the DBAs it appears to be a storage issue....

We have two 11.2 databases in a DG relationship. The logs are written to an NFS share on the standby node then applied. I am seeing what appears to be corruption in the logs, either during the log transfer or when they are written to disk on the standby node. I say the logs appear corrupted because a)Oracle complains when trying to apply them (ORA-00317: file type 0 in header is not log file); b)running the destination log file through od shows almost all nulls; and c)running the destination log file through strings gives only a few lines. Running the source log files through od and strings yield a lot of information, which I'm using as the definition of a "good" log file.

When the log files are manually copied over to the standby with ssh, and then applied, it works fine; which initially points me to the log transfer process, but if we use the same process and point to a different NFS share, it works fine (which points me to the NFS share, but the same data written via ssh appears fine...).

I'm currently trying to trace the data path using tcpdump and strace; I'd like to watch the output stream from the production node, compare it to the source log file, the input stream on the standby node, and the destination log file.