This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Dec 20, 2012 9:52 PM by MahirM.Quluzade RSS

Help for: ORA-01103: database name PRIMARY in control file is not STANDBY

980920 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello all, this will be my first post to the support forum. I'm an associate dba with just 6 months on the job, so if I've forgotten something or not given some infromation that is needed please let me know.

I've also combed the forums/internet, and some of the answers haven't helped. The Oracle Document ORA-1103 While Mounting the Database Using PFILE [ID 237073.1] says my init.ora file is corrupted, but creating a new init.ora file from the spfile does not help. Neither does just starting from the spfile. I have older copies of the init.ora file and the spfiles that the database was running on previously, so I believe they are good.

This standby NIRNASD1 has existed previously, I had to refresh the primary NIKNASD2, and then re-instantiate NIRNASD1 after the refresh is complete.

My env is set correctly, and my ORACLE_SID has been exported to NIRNASD1
NIKNASD2 = Primary Database
NIRNASD1 = Secondary/Standby Database
Goal: Creation of Logical Standby NIRNASD1 after creating Physical Standby from NIKNASD2
My database versions are 10.2.0.4.0, and the databases are on a Unix server. Both databases are located on separate servers.

Steps that I have taken:

I used RMAN to backup our primary database to the staging area:
$ rman target /

run {
backup database
format '/datatransa/dg_stage/%U'
include current controlfile for standby;
sql "alter system archive log current";
backup archivelog all format '/datatransa/dg_stage/%U';
}

I used RMAN to Create Secondary Database utilizing RMAN DUPLICATE command.

RMAN> run {
2> allocate auxiliary channel auxdisk device type disk;     
3> duplicate target database for standby NOFILENAMECHECK;
4> }

On Secondary database I started Managed Recovery mode

SQL> shutdown immediate;
ORA-01109: database not open