This discussion is archived
12 Replies Latest reply: Jan 2, 2013 2:07 PM by jgarry RSS

Correct career path?

981324 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello everyone,

I just need some advices on which career path to chose. I'm just an IT graduate who's been working as a sales manager for retail shop.I think its time to move on to IT/business support field which i like. I have a basic knowledge on SQL and Oracle.I did IZO-051 and passed first time last week. But Im not sure if OCA is the right path to get a job.what about those business suite exams? I prefer a job which is related to business/sales as well. To be honest iIdont like programing.Can someone tell me which would the correct path of certificates to get a job please.Thank you all.

Edited by: 978321 on Dec 21, 2012 5:00 PM
  • 1. Re: Correct career path?
    sb92075 Guru
    978321 wrote:
    Hello everyone,
    I'm just an IT graduate who's been working as a sales manager for retail shop.
    To be honest iIdont like programing.
    Why did you major in IT if you don't like programming?
    What in IT do you like?
  • 2. Re: Correct career path?
    981324 Newbie
    My degree is on IT with business information systems. Well,yes may be i was on the wrong path.Should have done something else. But i like Databases though. Like to get a job related to business+databases? ( sorry,if i sound stupid) Thanks.
  • 3. Re: Correct career path?
    Richard Harrison . Expert
    Hi,
    How about being a business analyst? They have to understand exactly what the business is doing and then act as the translator to IT to then build applications. No idea how you'd get started in that though.....

Cheers,
    Harry
  • 4. Re: Correct career path?
    981324 Newbie
    Hi Harry,Yeah thats a good idea. But getting there is kind of a problem. Im gonna finish OCA anyway. But been thinking about HCI side too. Loved those HCI subjects we had at the Uni.:) Thanks.
  • 5. Re: Correct career path?
    sb92075 Guru