This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Jan 1, 2013 2:59 AM by 864103 RSS

scan listener 11g.2

864103 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
hi all ,

first sorry for put my question here , but any question under general question all the member give me his opinion
and share with me .....


oracle 11g.2 ASM with RAC under RHEL 5

i'm confusing of scan i have 2 nodes so i have 5 ip's
2 public , 2 vip , one scan in hosts file

when i give the client tnsnames that contain scan ip(x.x.x.120) the messages appear no listener ???
is this mean this request go to node 1 due to the scan listener is define only on node 2
?????


can i create scan listener in node 1 with the same scan ip (x.x.x.120) and same port ????

oracle@ccbs01 ~]$ cd ../app/11.2.0/grid/bin/
[oracle@ccbs01 bin]$ ./srvctl status scan
SCAN VIP scan1 is enabled
SCAN VIP scan1 is running on node ccbs02
[oracle@ccbs01 bin]$ ./srvctl status scan_listener
SCAN Listener LISTENER_SCAN1 is enabled
SCAN listener LISTENER_SCAN1 is running on node ccbs02
[oracle@ccbs01 bin]$
thanks
  • 1. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    Victor Armbrust Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    Scan SHOULD NOT BE CONFIGURED IN HOSTS FILE

    Scan should always be configured in DNS common for all nodes in the cluster

    Please, see the documentation Below to get more information about SCAN service:


    *11gR2 Grid Infrastructure Single Client Access Name (SCAN) Explained [ID 887522.1]*
    http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/products/clustering/overview/scan-129069.pdf
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/server.112/e10803/config_cw.htm
    https://blogs.oracle.com/stevenChan/entry/using_scan_listener_with_e
    http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/features/availability/316925-175283.pdf

    Since your SCAN is configured correctly, you will have no problems with listeners..

    Victor
  • 2. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    864103 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    okay , thanks ,


    my server is run under the below range :

    1.2.3.120 but when i access the server vie 4.5.6.120 (120 is scan ip)
    when i put my laptop in same range static ip or connect by vpn (1,2,3,120)

    i can access the database from scan ip ??? is this mean the scan listener is configure correctly ???
  • 3. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    Victor Armbrust Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    SCAN IP and VIP (Listener IPs) should ALWAYS be on the same SUBNET, otherwise you will not be able to connect at your DB/TNS
  • 4. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    864103 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    okay , just please tell me why i'm able to connect to database and in my tnsnames the scan ip as a host
    vie VPN .
    ABS =
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = x.x.x.120)(PORT = 1521))
        (CONNECT_DATA =
          (SERVER = DEDICATED)
          (SERVICE_NAME = service.domain)
        )
      )
    
    # SCAN
    x.x.x.120   ccbs-scan.localdomain ccbs-scan
    
    
    C:\Users\ahmed.adel>sqlplus sys@ABS as sysdba
    
    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.1.0 Production on Fri Dec 28 20:59:34 2012
    
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2010, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
    
    Enter password:
    
    Connected to:
    Oracle Database 11g Release 11.2.0.2.0 - 64bit Production
    With the Real Application Clusters and Automatic Storage Management options
    
    SQL>
    just please tell me why ??? due to i'm confuse in this issue

    --i think i have scan listener but it's running only in node2 correct me if i'm wrong???
    so only i need to define the scan listener in node 1 correct me if i'm wrong???


    thanks for your time ......
  • 5. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    Victor Armbrust Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    Is your SCAN on the same SUBNET of VIP?

    Scan will run only to distribute connections between nodes (it doesn't matter if the scan address is runing on node 1, 2 or both nodes).
    But again your scan should be configured on DNS server, and not in hosts file...
  • 6. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    864103 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Is your SCAN on the same SUBNET of VIP? yes same VIP.

    Scan will run only to distribute connections between nodes (it doesn't matter if the scan address is runing on node 1, 2 or both nodes)??? base on that i can
    contain only one scan ip and one scan listener and it's not matter if it is running in node1 or node2 .


    But again your scan should be configured on DNS server, and not in hosts file??? you are right i read many articals say that
    but there is workround to use hosts file in each nodes ???


    please tell me if i'm wrong ???also tell me why i can gain access that database vie VPN and in tnsnames contain the scan ip???


    i will be a high appreciated of you .
  • 7. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    979309 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    My Friend.. Lets clear things once for all

    - Why you can connect to your TNS?
    If you are using an IP address that is on the same SUBNET (VIP eg) you will connect fine. If your SCAN is Setup on HOSTS file UP and RUNING you will connect fine also.

    - Can you use SCAN on hosts file?
    YES. Should you? No...

    - Why CANT you use DNS? That is not clear for me... Why use it in HOSTS file?

    - What do you meant with "VPN"? Why are you using VPN?

    Just to clarify once for all: SCAN SHOULD BE Configured ON DNS ON THE SAME VIP Subnet. Thats it. If you plan to use in HOSTS file, that your call and it is a WORKAROUND.


    You can check your configuration:
    nslookup <your_scan_name>
    
    # $GRID_HOME/bin/srvctl status scan
    # $GRID_HOME/bin/srvctl status scan_listener
    # $GRID_HOME/bin/srvctl config scan
    You can check also these 2 notes about SCAN configuration:

    *How to update the IP address of the SCAN VIP resources (ora.scan<n>.vip) [ID 952903.1]*
    *How to Modify SCAN Setting or SCAN Listener Port after Installation [ID 972500.1]*


    Victor
  • 8. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    Victor Armbrust Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    Sorry, I posted with my incorrect username in last post

    --------

    My Friend.. Lets clear things once for all

    - Why you can connect to your TNS?
    If you are using an IP address that is on the same SUBNET (VIP eg) you will connect fine. If your SCAN is Setup on HOSTS file UP and RUNING you will connect fine also.

    - Can you use SCAN on hosts file?
    YES. Should you? No...

    - Why CANT you use DNS? That is not clear for me... Why use it in HOSTS file?

    - What do you meant with "VPN"? Why are you using VPN?

    Just to clarify once for all: SCAN SHOULD BE Configured ON DNS ON THE SAME VIP Subnet. Thats it. If you plan to use in HOSTS file, that your call and it is a WORKAROUND.


    You can check your configuration:
    nslookup <your_scan_name>
    
    # $GRID_HOME/bin/srvctl status scan
    # $GRID_HOME/bin/srvctl status scan_listener
    # $GRID_HOME/bin/srvctl config scan
    You can check also these 2 notes about SCAN configuration:

    *How to update the IP address of the SCAN VIP resources (ora.scan<n>.vip) [ID 952903.1]*
    *How to Modify SCAN Setting or SCAN Listener Port after Installation [ID 972500.1]*


    Victor

    Edited by: Victor Armbrust on 29/12/2012 16:25
  • 9. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    864103 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    okay , thanks now there is more thing clear for me ,

    but my question is why i can connected by VPN (VPN IS SOFTWARE BY THIS SOFTWARE I CAN ACCESS THE SERVER IN THE WORK WHEN I AM IN HOUSE)

    now i'm in house i put the x.x.x.120 which is scan ip i can connected normally ,
    but when i work in server in office this message appear

    ERROR:
    ORA-12541: TNS:no listener


    please i need to solve this issue and then i can move to use DNS .
  • 10. Re: scan listener 11g.2
    864103 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    it's solved...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points