1 Reply Latest reply: Jan 2, 2013 12:26 PM by edward17 RSS

javafx database desktop application

I'm new to java fx .

I want to develop a desktop application which connect to database directly.

The important things to me are :

1 - Quick development
      2 - Easy to maintain -
      3 - Speed
      4 - Dynamic - Tables and db objects are dynamic so I will need to create dynamic views (forms , tables) on the fly with out configuration or code change .

Questions :

1 - Should I develop DAL , Using jdbs ?
      2 - Use ORM solution ? which ?
      3 - Would you suggest to use FXML and scene builder ?
      4 - Do you have example of using stand alone database connectivity with java fx ?

I'll be happy to hear your suggestions

Many Thanks

• 1. Re: javafx database desktop application
          Alon, a couple of things -

really what you are looking for is some design guidelines. The answer to your questions ofetn depend on answers to other questions - questions that others can't answer for you.

So you have 4 design requirements listed

1) quick development - well then coding something in what you already know would be a bias
          2) easy to maintain - that depends on the quality of what you develop and how aware of best practices in your chosen development framework are
          3) Speed - of database lookups? Screen rendering? DB performance tweaking depends on how big a database usually. Speed is too fluid a concept - you need to pin it down. Generally JavaFX performs just fine - great even. You can also design a JavaFX screen that performs poorly.
          4) dynamic - ok, we are getting into issues of complexity - why is it dynamic, and are you looking to update tables with changing designs?

So your questions:

1) DAL using JDBS - how comfortable are you with JDBS? your issue#4 may require this
          2) ORM - if you have to dfevelop quickly, do you have time to learn an ORM if you are not already comfortable with it?