This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Jan 7, 2013 9:57 PM by Dude! RSS

Network between 2 CPU's

K. Varun Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello Forum mates

I am haveing two cpus which are linux(oel-4 i think so).when i type this comand uname -mrs it shows
Linux 2.6.9-78.0.0.0.1.ELhugemem i686
what does it mean which version of oel im using and is it 32 or 64bit?

and my imp question is can i connect this two systems without hub just by pluging the two cpus with a lan wire?

what are the settings?

plz help me...
  • 1. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    Dude! Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    The following pdf will help you to identify your Linux distribution:

    http://www.oracle.com/us/technologies/linux/027625.pdf

    i686 means x86, 32-bit.

    To connect two machines via Ethernet without a Switch or Hub simply connect the two with a cross-over Ethernet cable. These cables are usually marked. If you have newer Ethernet controllers you can also use a normal cable as they sense the connection, but a proper X-over cable will be the safest. When you configure TCP/IP on those machines, just configure them both to be in the same network, no gateway. For instance: Machine A: 10.0.1.1/255.0.0.0, machine B 10.0.2.1/255.0.0.0.
  • 2. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    rukbat Guru Moderator
    Currently Being Moderated
    K. Varun wrote:
    Hello Forum mates

    I am haveing two cpus which are linux
    You seem to need to get your terminology correct for a better understanding of what you are working with. If you use proper terminology then others will understand your questions easier.

    You do not have "two cpus". You have two computers.
    Go to Google, select "Images" at the top of the Google home page and type in `*cpu*` to see pictures of what a cpu looks like.
    Then type in `computer` to see images of what a computer looks like.
    can i connect this two systems without hub just by pluging the two cpus with a lan wire?
    Yes. See the first response in this thread.
  • 3. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    K. Varun Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    its showing

    ssh: connect to host 10.0.1.0 port 22: Network is unrechable
  • 4. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    Dude! Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    Of course not, because 10.0.1.0 is not a valid TCP/IP host address. The first (0) and last address (255) are used as the network identifier and broadcast address. All other addresses 1 - 254 can be assigned to hosts on the same subnet. If you are unfamiliar with the basics, perhaps the following link will explain it:
    http://www.w3schools.com/tcpip/tcpip_intro.asp
  • 5. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    K. Varun Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    i have changed the ip adress to 192.168.0.69 and mask to 255.255.255.0 still its showing network is unrechable!
  • 6. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    Dude! Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    What TCP/IP addres are you using on the other machine?
  • 7. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    K. Varun Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    on other machine 192.168.0.96 and 255.255.255.0
  • 8. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    Dude! Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    Please show the output of the following commands from both computers:

    # ifconfig -a
    # netstat -rn
    # ping 192.168.0.69
    # ping 192.168.0.96
  • 9. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    K. Varun Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    1st computer 192.168.0.69 output

    [root@localhost ~]# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:A1:8E:DC:96
    inet addr:192.168.0.69 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:225 Base address:0xb800

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:B6:5D:A7
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:177 Base address:0xa000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:3451 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3451 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4633260 (4.4 MiB) TX bytes:4633260 (4.4 MiB)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    [root@localhost ~]# netstat -rn
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
    [root@localhost ~]# ping 192.168.0.96
    connect: Network is unreachable


    2nd computer 192.168.0.96 output

    [root@localhost ~]# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:D1:78:35:E5
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:A1:7E:42:36
    inet addr:192.168.0.96 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::208:a1ff:fe7e:4236/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:24 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:3630 (3.5 KiB)
    Interrupt:193 Base address:0x1000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2056 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2056 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2578790 (2.4 MiB) TX bytes:2578790 (2.4 MiB)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    [root@localhost ~]# netstat -rn
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
    192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth1

    [root@localhost ~]# ping 192.168.0.69
    PING 192.168.0.69 (192.168.0.69) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.0.96 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.0.96 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.0.96 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.0.96 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.0.96 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.0.96 icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable
  • 10. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    Dude! Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    Are you sure you are using a cross-over Ethernet cable? When you put the plugs side by side the cables/colors should not be at the same positions.
  • 11. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    K. Varun Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    they are haveing same colours!
  • 12. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    K. Varun Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    On a regular pin-to-pin cable, both connectors use the same wire order- is it true dude?
  • 13. Re: Network between 2 CPU's
    Dude! Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethernet_crossover_cable

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points