7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 8, 2013 2:00 AM by Kayaman RSS

A question on methods and parameters.

Hey guys, it's my first time posting here. I'm very new to Java, and did a bit of C++ prior to Java. I had a question on methods and parameters. I don't quite understand methods; I know that they can be repeated when called, but thats almost about it. I also know that a program must have one class that holds the main method. What I truly, truly don't understand about methods is what parameters are. I know they go in the parentheses, and that's it. Could you please explain what they are? I truly appreciate it. Thanks to all in advance. Regards, Michael
        • 1. Re: A question on methods and parameters.
          Any help, please...?
          • 2. Re: A question on methods and parameters.
            rp0428
            You should work your way through the Java Tutorial. This is the section on methods and it covers parameters.

http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/java/javaOO/methods.html
            • 3. Re: A question on methods and parameters.
              gimbal2
              980187 wrote:
              I'm very new to Java, and did a bit of C++
              How is that possible when you don't even know what parameters are?

Anyway perhaps you should consider buying a decent book to learn the language, that at least you CAN learn from a book. The other option is that you ask a million "how does this work" questions in a forum, which I will assure you is going to net you quite unfriendly responses eventually when the patience of people runs out. Lack of knowledge is not a problem because it is easily solved: get decent study material.
              • 4. Re: A question on methods and parameters.