This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: Mar 18, 2013 7:51 PM by matthew_morris RSS

Oracle certification

983231 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi
i started studying Oracle Database, Could any one plz guide me
  • 1. Re: Oracle certification
    bigdelboy Pro
    980228 wrote:
    Hi
    i started studying Oracle Database, Could any one plz guide me:
    The forums covers certification examinatins for people wishing to demonstrate they have reached some proficiency in certain aspects of one of the many products of the Oracle Company. It does not offer generalised guidance study advice.

However to answer your question a little:

I think in general the best but not only approach) is to learn some general relational database concepts: ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relational_database gives a breif overview ) and some would certainly argue become aware of relational algebra, and then become familiar with SQL (Strucured query langauage) which is the most common way of accessing a relational database.

It's a bit hard to generalize, but the following links may help; though suitability may depend on other experience you may have. These tend to emphasise the practical rather than the theory:

http://www.oracle.com/pls/db112/homepage ( "Getting Stared")

Concepts manual is good but it may go into too quick a deep dive for beginners.

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/products/express-edition/documentation/index.html
    -> Oracle Database Express Edition 11g Release 2 Documentation
    -> Getting Started: ( http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E17781_01/admin.112/e18585.pdf )

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/tutorials/index.html

The most entry level exam oracle has in the area for Oracle (classic) database is 1z0-051 (11g SQL) ... but that does not lead to a certification in itself.