This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply: Jan 10, 2013 4:28 AM by Kayaman RSS

How to use Generics in a List

689442 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to java and have a very basic question about generics.
I have many classes such as Hotel, School, Mall, and many other. They are created by hibernate.
A hql statement coule be :
1, from Hotel t
2, from School
3, from Mall
4, something like that

How to use Generics to simplify code?

Thanks a lot!
  • 1. Re: How to use Generics in a List
    gimbal2 Guru
    I don't get it - you're already using generics.

Hibernate on the other hand does not because it can return just about anything - it all depends on what you ask of it in the HQL query which might just end up returning a List of Object arrays where each index holds an object of a different class. That's why you need the manual typecasts, only you know what you are asking Hibernate to return.

And please: use \
     tags when posting code.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
  • 2. Re: How to use Generics in a List
    689442 Newbie