This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 8, 2013 5:29 PM by 861120 RSS

Cross Platform Tablespace Migration

981071 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
My background is currently an DBA in other database platforms (DB2, MySQL, MSSQL) and i've been tasked with a migration of an oracle database. I'm trying to get a feel for the Oracle platform.

The Situation is as thus:
We are working up to transferring a mission critical 1.2 TB Dataset from a Big Endian 10.2 (Solaris Sparc) Platform to a Little Endian 10.2 (Microsoft NT) Platform (i'm currently uncertain as to the exact number of tablespaces/datafiles involved (as little as 4 potentially)

We're pursuing the transportable tablespace route to get the data converted and migrated. However due to the high availability needs of this data down time has to be minimized.

With this type transfer would there be a method to employ a replication like (log shipping) solution to this?

From what i have seen thus far, and right now my knowledge is limited.. the complexity of the conversion wouldn't allow for applying archive logs to the converted tablespaces.

In any case I have all the oracle documentation (administrative guide, advanced backup and recovery guide, reference and utility guide) am in the process of searching for a solution which would not have us take down the database for long periods of time.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I am posting this to RMAN Forums as it seems to be the best area to post this question.
  • 1. Re: Cross Platform Tablespace Migration
    rcc50886 Journeyer
    Its all depends upon how much downtime you will get for the migration ?

If you want to use the cross platform migration you need to place the tablespaces in readonly mode which requires a downtime for app perspective. If you get a enough downtime window then you can use Transportable tablespaces. You may also consider about creating a NFS mount point between the source and target with good network bandwidth.