This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Jan 14, 2013 2:33 AM by EJP RSS

Question on code in swing?

983190 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hey guys, I'm really new to Java. I was working on a bit of code to simply put up an oval and a rectangle in swing/awt. I was wondering if you guys could explain the concept of getContentPane().add(new MyComp()); I really don't get it. I will give you guys the code, and in it I put comments where i dont get stuff. Also, another question is, is the Paint Method called implicitly at run time? How is paint called? Does AWT simply call it? Thanks guys, heres the code;

import javax.swing.*;
import java.awt.*;

class Rect {
     public static void main(String[] args) {
          Rect draw = new Rect(); /*This simply instantiates the object, so that the constructor comes in, right? *\
     }

public Rect() {  //here we set up the constructor to make our window
          JFrame frame = new JFrame("Drawing with Alph!");
          frame.setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);
          frame.getContentPane().add(new MyComp()); //What does get Contentpane() do? I know it's a method, but what's its use?
          frame.setSize(500, 500);
          frame.setVisible(true);
     }

public class MyComp extends JComponent { /*This is what I don't understand; the JComponent part. I understand the code block within it, however. *\ What does JComponent do?
          public void paint(Graphics mw) { /*Why is the Graphics class within the parameter here? Is this an object? Super confused on this *\
               int length = 200;
               int width = 130;
               mw.setColor(Color.red);
               mw.drawRect(20, 30, length, width);
               mw.fillRect(20, 30, length, width);
               mw.setColor(Color.red);
               mw.drawOval(250, 100, length, width);
               mw.setColor(Color.cyan);
               mw.fillOval(249, 99, length, width);
          }
     }
}